Posted by: S.Hofmeister | April 14, 2010

Good: Misreading headlines

Every morning when I get to work I always have a quick glance at the latest headlines on MSN Today. Imagine my utter delight when I read a headline about Jade Goody’s ex Jack Tweed going to a ‘face rape’ trial!

Unfortunately, after reading the whole article to find out what face rape involved (although I had already taken an educated guess) and why a charge for something so specific existed, it hit me that there was actually no hyphen between ‘face’ and ‘rape’ and that the headline wasn’t referring to the act of ‘face rape’ at all – it simply stated that Tweed was going to face a bog-standard rape trial.

*sigh*

Leave a Reply

Categories

